CHAPTER		D
	5	

Spain's Autonomous Communities

Spain is organized into 17 "autonomous communities," regions of the country with common historic, cultural, and economic characteristics. These regions are allowed some local control, under the greater authority of the national government. The map below shows Spain and its autonomous regions. Study the map, then answer the questions on the following page.



ame	Class	Date
Chapter 16, Map Ad	tivity, continued	
I. In which autonometics border that reg	ous community is the national capi ion?	tal located? Which communi-
2. Which region of Sp Ocean? What is the	pain has coastline on both the Medi regional capital?	terranean Sea and the Atlanti
	island communities located? What dinates of Las Palmas de Gran Can	
4. In which communi located?	ties are the regional capitals of Bar	celona, Oviedo, and Mérida
Basque provinces, a	L ocation Three autonomous comr and Galicia—are designated "histor aracteristics. What do these regions	ic nationalities" due to their
	the cultural, political, and economi e Basque region and the Spanish go	ž

about some aspect of that struggle and bring it to class. Discuss the article in light of your research on the Basque problem.

Copyright © by Holt, Rinehart and Winston. All rights reserved.